top of page
  • Writer's pictureShaun Anderson

5 Movies I Could Watch at Any Time

Updated: Aug 9, 2022


[Image description: Movie cover of The Perks of Being a Wallflower]

This is my all time favorite movie. I could watch it at any time, although I do have a ritual every November called Perks Night. In November of 2014, without sounding melodramatic, I discovered this movie and it saved my life. The movie emphasize the fact that Charlie (the protagonist) turned to good friends, good music, and good books to save his life. Since 2014, I have had a movie night with my best friends, where we watch The Perks of Being a Wallflower together. It's evolved to the point, where I make sure that I have a good book and a personalized playlist/CD for each of my friends, because I think it's important to celebrate the reasons you're still alive.


[Image description: Movie cover of Pride and Prejudice]

The Kiera Knightly version of Pride and Prejudice is the best film adaptation of this story ever made. Full stop. I will fight you on this. The soundtrack is absolutely stunning. The casting is perfect, right down to every single minor character. It's heartfelt. It's beautiful. It's on Netflix. I don't care that it cuts a few details from the book. I don't care that in the book Charles Bingley has two terrible sisters. I love this movie.


[Image cover: Movie cover of Mean Girls]

Oh hey. I'm basic. I know. This movie is a classic. It's one of the funniest movies that I have ever seen, and while I would say that the deeper message is really nothing special, I do think that it does have an important message about learning to be kind, and taking responsibility when you find yourself in the wrong.


[Image description: Movie cover of Black Panther]

I'll say what everyone is thinking. Marvel is overrated. Is everyone thinking it? We really should be at this point, guys. That being said, Black Panther is an incredible movie. It's got a stellar cast, with likable heroes and villains. It's got a lot to say about racism, which is a huge problem in America, and it's fun. I also need to note, that Black Panther is not the definitive source to look to, when you're studying up on anti=racist practices.


[Image description: Movie cover of Love, Simon]

It's hella cheesy. Simon's friends are pretty much the worst friends in the world. Like all of them. One is better than the others, but even she should probably be a little bit more understanding about blackmail. But I cannot tell you how many times I have watched the Jennifer Garner "You get to exhale now" scene. It's everything I wish that I had heard when I came out, and I think it's so important that movies like this exist today.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page